Punjab State Inter District Tournament for Katoch Shield Trophy

The Punjab State Inter District Tournament for Katoch Shield got underway at Gandhi Grounds Amritsar with hosts Amritsar taking on Chandigarh. Winning the toss and opting to bat Amritsar scored 307 at close of first days play. Wicket keeper Mohit Handa (51) Arush Sabharwal 41 and Abhinav Sharma 55 were the principal run getters for Amritsar. Spinners Arpit Singh 3 for 79 and Bhagmender Singh 3 for 62 were the main wicket takers for Chandigarh. Mohit Handa and Sharad Lumba put on 69 runs for the 3rd wicket while Arush Sabharwal and Abhinav Sharma put on 60 runs for the 7th wicket. At the end of first days play Amritsar were 307 for 7 in 97 overs in their three day encounter.

In the second match Mohali won the toss against Faridkot at Fridkot and decided to bat. Mohali were 164 for 2 in 37.3 overs. Subeer Hayer 22, Mayank Sidana 14, Shubman Gill not out 85 and Gurkeerat Singh not out 43 were the main run getters for Mohali. Namandheer 1 for 23 and Harjot Singh 1 for 53 were the main wicket takers for Faridkot. Play was stopped after 37.3 overs due to heavy rains.

In the 3rd match Ludhiana won the toss and elected to field against Gurdaspur at PAU Ludhiana. Due to heavy rains match was started at 2.15 pm. Gurdaspur were all out at 108 in 49 overs. Vaibhav Saini 30 and Arjun Kumar 26 and Madhav Pathania not out 21 were the main run getters for Gurdaspur. For Ludhiana Simranjit Singh 7 for 27, Krishan Kumar 1 for 27, Nikhil Chaudhary 1 for 13 and Baltej Singh 1 for 19 were the main wicket takers.

In reply Ludhiana were 9 for 1 in 4.2 overs when game stopped due to bad light at 5.58 pm. Talwinder Prince batting on 01 and Gitansh Khera not out 04.

In the 4th match played at Dhruv Pandove Stadium Patiala between Patiala and Jalandhar, Patiala won the toss and decided to bat. Due to rains match started at 12.10 p.m. Patiala scored 158 for 5 in 64 overs. Prabhjot Singh 26, Jiwanjot Singh 71, Sanvir Singh 39 were the main run getters for Patiala. For Shubek Gill 2 for 37 and Raghu Sharma 2 for 26 were the main wicket takers for Jalandhar.